Equal loudness graph - Reference Audio Analyzer

F.A.Q. / Headphones / Characteristics / Subjective perception of frequency response / Normal equal-loudness-level contours

Normal equal-loudness-level contours - Examples in practice

Marantz MPH-1

The black line shows the original frequency response of headphones MPH-1, which is taken as reference sound pressure level of 72 dB SPL. If we add or lower the volume level in the amplifier in steps of 12 dB, then subjectively the frequency response will change as in the graph above.

The relatively flat frequency response is closest to the -12 dB line, but with a deviation of -24 dB.

Are these data accurate? For verification, the "natural volume level" was set, and on Windows PC in the Foobar2000 player the volume was reduced blindly until the frequency response became felt relatively flat. The result for the set volume level is -17 dB, quite close to the calculated data. Depending on the musical material, the data for each will differ slightly, because the frequency response in the low-frequency range of the MPH-1 is not a straight line for all possible loudness deviations. Someone will not take into account the lowest frequencies (at volume levels below 20 dB). Another one as a compromise will leave the slightly rise in the region of 60 Hz for frequencies below 50 Hz.


Marantz MPH-2

For MPH-2 , the most flat line is the graph at level of -24 dB for the all frequency range. While the frequency response in the low frequency range is not exactly flat, there is a slight rise in the region of 200 Hz. Alternative line is the graph at level -12 with a more or less uniform low-frequency range with a slight dominance of low-frequencies.

On different musical material, subjectively, the headphones sounded linear at levels from -12 to -20 dB. Sometimes priority was of the evenness of the entire low-frequency range, and sometimes linearity in comparison with the middle and high frequencies. Thus the subjective perception was not far from the graphs.

In the examples above it is clearly shown that if you take into account the level of volume at which the listening will be performed, the headphones will be perceived more evenly, or vice versa. And at the same time when selecting a different level of volume, the earphones will not play music perfectly smoothly, there will still be some compromise.


Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

The M50x has a rise in the low frequency range. But if you will list to them at 12 ~ 24 dB quieter, then the AFC will be "flat". Thus M50x will be smooth headphones for listening to music at levels of 48 ~ 60 dB SPL with a soundtrack with a natural volume level of 72 dB SPL. Or "terribly groovy bass" "at loudnesses above 80-90 dB SPL.If the original music is heavy metal rock with a natural level above 100 dB - then an amendment is made with respect to 100 dB.

Where connected to low power amplifiers M50x does not have a large volume level. But due to the fact that the headphones had flat frequency responce at a low volume, they are a good choice and "play well from any source", where the main bulk of everything is smartphones, tablets or low-budget players.



AKG K701

For example we take non-bass headphones AKG K701.

The headphones are "linear" only at level only at + 6 to + 18 dB relative to 72 dB. Thus K701 is optimally to listen at a loudness from 85 to 90 dB SPL. Accordingly, the amplifier needs to be louder (more powerful). K701 will rock only at high volume. The best option for a person with low sensivity of hearing from the age (sarcasm, but with a share of truth).



Last news




it is a translation from the Russian language. Original text in Russian page.

You can help us with the correct translation into English.

Select incorrect text and press Ctrl+Enter, forum, facebook and feedback
Thank You!


Share

If you notice a typo or other inaccuracy, then select it and press Ctrl+Enter. This will accelerate the process of improving the reports.



Follow

программно-аппаратный комплекс для тестов, анализа и генерации отчетов измерений аудиооборудования
 главная | новости | on-line калькуляторы | on-line подбор по параметрам | отчеты измерений | F.A.Q. | форум | О RAA

F.A.Q. / Наушники / Характеристики / Субъективное восприятие АЧХ / Кривые равной громкости

Кривые равной громкости - примеры применения графика на практике

Marantz MPH-1

Черная линия показывает исходную линию АЧХ наушников MPH-1, где за опорный уровень взято звуковое давление в 72 дБ SPL. Если мы будем прибавлять или убавлять уровень громкости в усилителе с шагом в 12 дБ, то субъективно АЧХ будет меняться как на графике выше.

Относительно ровная АЧХ наиболее близка к линии -12 дБ, но с отклонением в сторону -24 дБ.

Являются ли эти данные точными? Для проверки был выставлен «естественный уровень громкости», а в плеере Foobar2000 громкость понижалась вслепую до того момента, пока АЧХ не стала ощущаться относительно ровной. Результат для выставленного уровня громкости: -17 дБ, т.е. довольно близко к расчетным данным. В зависимости от музыкального материала, данные у каждого будут несколько различаться, т.к. АЧХ в низкочастотном диапазоне у MPH-1 не является прямой линией для всех возможных значений отклонений по громкости, и кто-то не будет учитывать самые низкие частоты (при уровнях изменения громкости ниже 20 дБ), а кто-то в качестве компромисса оставит небольшой подъем в области 60 Гц ради частот ниже 50 Гц.


Marantz MPH-2

Для MPH-2 наиболее ровной линией является уровень -24 дБ для всего частотного диапазона, при этом АЧХ в области низких частот не совсем ровная, есть небольшой подъем в области 200 Гц. Альтернативно ровной линией является и уровень -12 при более-менее равномерном низкочастотном диапазоне с небольшим доминированием.

На разном музыкальном материале субъективно ровно наушники звучали на уровнях от -12 до -20 дБ. Где-то был приоритет в сторону ровности всего низкочастотного диапазона, а где-то в сравнении со средними и высокими частотами. Т.е. опять субъективное восприятие ушло недалеко от графиков.

На примерах выше наглядно показано, что при учете громкости, на которой будет производится прослушивание, наушники будут восприниматься более ровно, либо наоборот. И при этом при подборе разного уровня громкости наушники не будут играть идеально ровно, все равно будет некий компромисс.


Audio-Technica ATH-M50x

У M50x есть подъем в области низких частот, но если их слушать на 12~24 дБ тише, то АЧХ будет "ровной". Т.е. M50x будут ровными наушникам для прослушивания музыки на уровнях 48~60 дБ SPL при фонограмме с естественным уровнем громкости в 72 дБ SPL. Или "жутко долбежные басом"" на громкостях выше 80-90 дБ SPL. Если же исходная музыка - тяжелый мателлический рок с естественным уровнем выше 100 дБ - то делается поправка относительно 100 дБ SPL.

При подключении к слабомощным усилителям большой громкости из M50x не вытянуть, но за счет того, что на малой громкости наушники как раз ровные - они являются хорошим выбором и "хорошо играют от всего", где основной массой «от всего» являются смартфоны, планшеты или бюджетные плееры.



AKG K701

Берем не басовитые "ровные" наушники AKG K701.

А вот тут наушники являются ровными лишь на уровнях +6~+18 дБ относительно 72 дБ. Т.е. K701 оптимально слушать на громкости от 85 до 90 дБ SPL. Соответственно и усилитель нужен погромче, и "качают" они только на большой громкости. Оптимальный вариант для севшего от возраста слуха (сарказм, но с долей правды).


 

Мы открываем свое присутствие в социальных сетях

Жизнь проекта RAA не ограничена только измерениями. Для информирования о разных событиях мы открываем свое присутствие в социальных сетях, где вы можете быть в курсе всех наших новостей. Например, вы можете ознакомится с фотографиями с выставки High End 2017 Munich в фотоальбомах в vk и facebook.

Это была интересная выставка, на которой удалось пообщаться с большим количеством производителей. Очень многие производители выразили желание сотрудничать и отправлять новинки в тестовую лабораторию для технических измерений. Некоторые продукты были получены сразу на выставке и их измерения уже попали в базу отчетов: Shanling M2s, Enigma Acoustics & Lotoo Dharma D200 и Lotoo PAW Pico.

Будьте с нами и следите за новыми тестами!





 




отчеты измерений